Menu

Canadian Online Brokerage Review – TD Direct Investing (TD Waterhouse)

Canadian Discount Broker - TD Direct Investing

Mailing Address
77 Bloor Street West, Main Floor
Toronto, ON
M5S 1M2
Website: https://www.td.com/
Email Address: td.waterhouse@td.com
Phone: 1-800-465-5463
Customer Service Hours: 24hrs, seven days a week

TD Direct Investing Review

Updated on: Feb. 8, 2019
TD Direct Investing (formerly known as TD Waterhouse Discount Brokerage) is one of Canada’s largest discount brokerages. As a bank-owned online brokerage, it is able to offer clients the ability to manage multiple accounts (including personal banking) and products via the TD online platform. What makes TD Direct Investing stand out relative to most of its bank-owned peers is the amount of education it provides as well as the diverse set of trading platforms. Specifically, TD Direct Investing offers web-based and desktop platforms for active traders as well as longer term investors.

Quick Info

Standard Equity Commission $9.99
Best Commission Price $7
Minimum to Open Account Not Required
Maintenance/Inactivity Fees $25/quarter
Commission Free ETFs No
Young Investor Offer No

» Get Full Pricing Details

Pricing & Fees

As with several of its peers, earlier in 2014 TD Direct Investing lowered their standard commission pricing in this case to $9.99 per trade (flat). There are no deposit or trading minimums required in order to qualify for the standard pricing. For active traders, defined as clients who trade 150 or more times per quarter, the cost per trade is $7 flat. Options trading has also seen a reduction in price with the standard fee per options trade as $9.99 + $1.25 per contract and $7 + $1.25 per contract for active traders.

Although all clients are able to receive $9.99 per trade pricing, clients with balances underneath $15,000 are subject to a “custody fee” ($25) which is charged on a quarterly basis. Fortunately, there are certain conditions under which this fee can be waived, including:

1. Making at least 2 commission-generating trades within 6 months
2. Having a TD Direct Investing registered account
3. Being enrolled in a pre-authorized contribution plan of $100 per month or more

Account Types

Like many other online brokerages, TD Direct Investing offers registered and non-registered accounts. The registered account types include TFSAs, RDSPs, RRSPs and RESPs. TD Direct Investing has two kinds of RRSP accounts the ‘self-directed’ RSPs (and RIFs) and the ‘basic’ RSP. The important difference between the two is that the ‘basic’ RSP plan does not let users directly hold equities, options or mortgages whereas the ‘self-directed’ plan does.

In terms of non-registered account types, TD Direct Investing offers cash and margin accounts. In order to trade options and to short sell, a margin account and approval is required.

For several years, one of the biggest disadvantages concerning TD has been the lack of USD registered accounts. The ‘official line’ is that these accounts are forthcoming in 2014 and are currently undergoing testing, however the actual roll out date has not been announced. In the meantime, to address the currency conversions within registered accounts, TD Direct Investing has implemented a service called the U.S. Dollar Money Market Sweep & Redemption Service. Although the name is long, basically the service automatically routes the funds required to settle the transaction through a US dollar money market fund in such a way that a client doesn’t pay the foreign currency conversion fee. They have also extended this service to dividend payments so that clients receiving dividend payments (or making purchases) in US dollars won’t have to pay additional conversion fees. TD Direct Investing’s website details this process, so if it is of interest, be sure to review how it works.

Platform/Data

TD Direct Investing offers a broad selection of trading platforms that cater to investors of all activity levels. As a bank-owned discount brokerage, they are in the minority of providers that has web browser based as well as desktop based trading platforms. Although the platforms each have their strengths and limitations, choosing the right platform largely comes down to what kind of trading style you expect to have. TD’s online trading platforms include:

Platform Web/Desktop Based
Webbroker Web
Advanced Dashboard Web
Active Trader Desktop
US Trading Platform (ThinkOrSwim) Desktop

TD Direct Investing also offers mobile trading on the WebBroker and US Trading Platform. TD’s mobile/tablet apps are available for iOS, Android and Blackberry (smartphone) devices.

Reviews & Ratings

 Review What Review Measures Score Date of Ranking
Dalbar Canada Review Client Service Below Average
Below Average
January 2015
January 2014
Globe and Mail Review Overall Impression Letter Grade “A”
Letter Grade “B”
Letter Grade “B+”
3rd out of 12
Letter Grade “B+”
4th out of 12
Letter Grade “B”
6th out of 12
Letter Grade “C”
February 2019
February 2018
December 2016
December 2016
December 2015
December 2015
November 2014
November 2014
November 2013
JD Power Review Investor Satisfaction 7th out of 8
7th out of 8
7th out of 10
6th out of 10
3rd out of 10
4th out of 7
4th out of 11
June 2019
September 2018
September 2017
September 2016
September 2015
September 2014
September 2013
MoneySense Top Pick – Market Data
Top Pick – Market Data
Runner Up – Getting Started
Top Pick – Market Data
June 2019
July 2018
July 2017
July 2017

Compare

Coming Soon

What Would You Like to do Next?

Home Community Canadian Online Brokerage Review – TD Direct Investing (TD Waterhouse)

This topic contains 72 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  Kevin Baigent 1 day, 16 hours ago.

Viewing 10 posts - 51 through 60 (of 73 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #18119 Reply

    Douglas J. Bennion

    Agree with Flo on the research and record-keeping function, but as an active trader, I’m EXTREMELY frustrated with TD Advanced Dashboard. This is a very cumbersome and undependable program for the active trader. Unfortunately, I’m locked into it because I can’t take my CDN RRSP account to a US platform, like TradeStation or ThinkOrSwim. The stupid thing is that TD OWNS ThinkOrSwim, and won’t bring it to Canada.

    Advanced Dashboard crashes with some regularity, but usually when I need it the most to enter trades quickly. I have suggested that the VP in charge resign, if they had a shred of dignity.

    When I find a better service, I jumping ship.
    Cheers,
    DJB

    #18018 Reply

    Andrew

    Hopefully posting a review in 2016 is still relevant.

    I’d just like to note as a relatively new TD Direct Investing client (<2yrs), I’ve had no issues with webbroker, technical or otherwise.

    Huge fan of their platform, although the interface on Active Trader feels a little cumbersome and can be hard to get the info you want sometimes.

    9/10 overall.

    #17755 Reply

    Jan

    I agree completely with Jason, Jack and Doug. The new Webbroker website is not a professional product by any stretch of the imagination. I can confirm the previous complaints about the website crashing and randomly logging the client out – for no reason and at bad times (in the middle of a trade). Its behaviour is unpredictable, and sets users up to make serious or costly mistakes. From a “content” perspective, it did not fix any of the shortcomings of the previous webbroker. From an aesthetics perspective, it does nothing for me. From the view of clearly presenting information, it fails miserably since it is poorly laid out and excessively uses pop up mini-windows for everything. (Try assimilating diverse information when every tidbit of info requires 6 or more clicks to get to and is presented on a temporary pop up window that hides other information needed). And yet, for all these bad impressions, they are mild compared to the verdict on it’s usability: the lousy website DOES NOT WORK.

    I strongly recommend that clients avoid TD WebBroker because of how bad the new WebBroker is.

    #17750 Reply

    Sparx_Admin
    Keymaster

    Hi Doug,

    Sorry to hear you’re having issues with the platform stability – sounds like you’re not alone either. Unfortunately tech changes can go either way. From your case it sounds like design preferences aside, there are too many hiccups for your comfort. You may want to talk to a TD rep to see if they can somehow make it up to you but if not, there are other providers willing to land your business. Just fair warning though, it appears like a few other big names also have intermittent outages so it can happen to brokerages big or small. Good luck with the next provider (if you go that route) – let us know how it pans out.

    #17747 Reply

    Doug

    I found the sparxtrading website tonight while I was researching online brokerages. I have been a TD WebBroker client for at least 5 years. I was never really happy with WebBroker (it was clearly not vetted by someone who actually trades heavily), but I could get by. That is, until they released their “new and improved” WebBroker.
    The new site IS A COMPLETE DISASTER!
    Navigation is more difficult. Every action takes twice as long, and twice the clicks/typing to complete. The pages are unappealing and poorly laid out. But most of all, it is a totally unstable product. On average, it crashes or logs me out every 15 minutes. I’ve clicked links that don’t do what they are supposed to. It’s unfathomable that such a poor website would be made available to the public.

    I don’t have the time or patience to fight with this failure of a website any longer.
    I’m moving all my business – my stock portfolio, my mutual investments, and my bank accounts – to another institution. All because WebBroker is so bad.

    #17628 Reply

    Jack Cloutier

    absolute worst website I have ever been on , it never works properly if it works at all it was design and run by a ******** moron that runs it from his mothers basement , do not sign up wit them , pick anything else it will be better trust me I will be closing all my accounts with td broker , personal ,and business

    • This reply was modified 3 years, 12 months ago by  Sparx_Admin. Reason: Mod: edited inappropriate language
    #16252 Reply

    Jason

    They are Terrible!!! I would never recommend them. I, my mom, and my partner have had nothing but problems with them.
    -My partner was promised 50 free trades if she brought in $25K. Well she brought it in and now they are threatening to not give it to her even though she has met all the criteria. Took her 4 weeks to have her account set up properly…(should be 3 days).
    -My mother: they took 4 weeks to set up my mothers account as the bank did not know how to set up the account and there were many mistakes on the banks side…about 8. (They offered her 200 free trades as a promotion and are now threatening her as well to not cover all the trades even though she met the criteria).
    -I was promised 50 free trades and after completing 50 trades the bank said they changed their mind and would not reimburse me.
    Do not trust them when they offer you a promotional deal as they will rescind on the deal and you will get nothing.
    We all were supposed to get reimbursed the free trades 6 months later but it looks like we will all get nothing….we will all lose about $3000
    They will lie and steal from you as they have done to all 3 of us. I do not know any other TD customers who are on webbroker but 3/3 is unbelievable.

    #16129 Reply

    Richard Smith

    very nice

    #16010 Reply

    Sparx_Admin
    Keymaster

    Thanks for your feedback Pete. Can you share more details of the issues you’ve encountered? Also, if you’re looking for some resolution on support, try posting to their Twitter support @TD_DirectInvest or to their online support forum TD Helps. Keep us posted & best of luck getting through some of the technical difficulties.

    #16009 Reply

    Pete smith

    Terrible service support for very poor website that seldoms works correctly after updates!

    NO ONE CARES AT TD

    BE AWARE

Viewing 10 posts - 51 through 60 (of 73 total)
Reply To: Canadian Online Brokerage Review – TD Direct Investing (TD Waterhouse)
Your information: