Menu

Canadian Online Brokerage Review – CIBC Investor’s Edge

Mailing Address
800 Bay Street, 2nd Floor
Toronto, ON,
M5S 3A9
Website: https://www.investorsedge.cibc.com
Email Address: PCBISImailbox@cibc.com
Phone: 1-800-567-3343
Customer Service Hours:
Mon to Fri 8 a.m. to 8 p.m ET

CIBC Investor’s Edge Review

Updated on: Feb. 8, 2019
As a bank-owned online brokerage, CIBC Investor’s Edge is able to offer its online trading clients the ability to manage and access products from its banking arm. Over the course of 2013, this discount broker made a few announcements, most notably regarding their elimination of RESP account fees. In late 2014, CIBC Investor’s Edge lowered their standard commission pricing to put them back in the race with both bank-owned and independent online brokerages. Since then, CIBC Investor’s Edge has been gradually implementing small improvements to their online experience. In 2018, CIBC Investor’s Edge accelerated some of their enhancements for DIY investors including introducing student friendly pricing on commissions, charging $5.95 flat per trade, and ramping up their investor education and content offerings.

Like their peers, CIBC Investor’s Edge offers online trading in stocks, ETFs, mutual funds and bonds. They also have pricing plans for standard and active traders/investors.



Quick Info

Standard Equity Commission $6.95
Best Commission Price $4.95
Minimum to Open Account Not Required
Maintenance/Inactivity Fees $100/year
Commission Free ETFs No

» Get Full Pricing Details

Pricing & Fees

In 2014, CIBC Investor’s Edge did something many did not think they would do: lower commission prices to beneath that of their bank-owned competitors. While they were among the last of the bank-owned discount brokerages to lower their pricing under the $10 mark (down from $28.95+ per standard commission trade), Investor’s Edge took things down much further than their competitors by lowering their standard commission price to $6.95.

In 2018, CIBC Investor’s Edge introduced student friendly pricing which lowered the standard commission pricing to $5.95 per trade and waived the annual fee associated with account balances less than $10,000.

There is also an active trader pricing available which is $4.95 per trade for individuals (or households) that trade at least 150 times per quarter. The ability to pool assets by household and have that count towards trading thresholds is something that is relatively unique to CIBC Investor’s Edge and it is what makes their current pricing very challenging for others to match let alone beat.

As with some of their competitors, CIBC Investor’s Edge does have an “account maintenance” fee. The fee of $100 is charged annually for balances that are less than $10,000 (calculated at the close of business on Sept. 15th). This fee is waived for individuals who also hold a registered account such as an RRSP, RESP, RIF, LIF or LIRA.

Pricing for options contracts also mirror the standard and active trader commission structure. Standard option pricing is $6.95 + $1.25 per contract and active trader options pricing is $4.95 + $1.25 per contract.

Account Types

CIBC Investor’s Edge offers clients the ability to trade online in “non-registered” and “registered” accounts.

Like other discount brokerages, the non-registered accounts at Investor’s Edge include cash and margin accounts in which clients can short stocks as well as trade options.  For account balances of under $10,000, there is a $100 per year “account maintenance” fee that is assessed (the fee is assessed based on the balance as of close of business on September 15th).

For the registered accounts, CIBC Investor’s Edge offers the tax-free savings account (TFSA), registered-retirement savings plan accounts (RRSPs) and registered education savings plan (RESP) accounts.  There are “general administration” fees of $100 per year for RRSP accounts that do not meet the minimum balance threshold of $25,000.  Neither TFSAs nor RESPs have administration fees.

Unlike some of their discount brokerage peers, CIBC Investor’s Edge does not have US dollar registered accounts so clients will have to factor in currency conversion fees into their costs if they plan on trading US-listed securities.

Platform/Data

The online trading platforms offered by CIBC include a standard web-based platform as well a mobile trading app.

The standard web-based trading platform allows for most of the essential functions for order entry, creating/monitoring watchlists as well as basic chart and fundamental research.  It is comparable to most of the standard online trading interfaces offered by other online brokerages.

In addition to the web-based platform, CIBC also offers a mobile brokerage app which is available on iPhone and Android.

Reviews & Ratings

Review What Review Measures Score Date of Ranking
Dalbar Canada Review Client Service Below Average
Below Average
January 2015
January 2014
Globe and Mail Review Overall Impression Letter Grade “C”
Letter Grade “C”
Letter Grade “C+”
9th out of 12
Letter Grade “C-”
10th out of 12
Letter Grade “C”
8th out of 12
Letter Grade “D”
February 2019
February 2018
December 2016
December 2016
December 2015
December 2015
November 2014
November 2014
November 2013
JD Power Review Investor Satisfaction 2nd out of 8
2nd out of 8
8th out of 10
3rd out of 10
7th out of 10
7th out of 7
6th out of 11
June 2019
September 2018
September 2017
September 2016
September 2015
September 2014
September 2013
MoneySense Top Pick – Fees & Commissions July 2017

Compare

Coming Soon

What Would You Like to do Next?

Home Community Canadian Online Brokerage Review – CIBC Investor’s Edge

This topic contains 26 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Rasem Abdo 1 day, 10 hours ago.

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 27 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #28801 Reply

    Rasem Abdo

    Warning – I have worked for this brokerage long enough to know that anyone who cares about their money should avoid Investors Edge! I cannot say anymore.

    #26055 Reply

    IC

    Hi,
    Trying to close an Investor’s Edge account for an estate. I have a probated will and I’m the only executor. I’ve been at it for 6 weeks with zero results. Impossible to get feedback on the phone on what I need to do. I’ve sent the documents 3 times now and still they refuse to provide any feedback or direction or status update due to privacy or whatever, which doesn’t make sense. Reminded them that the bank has a legal duty to protect the estate and they are breaking the law by unreasonably delaying the process. No comment on that. I suspect they make the process impossible so they get to keep everyone’s money much longer. I recommend avoiding CIBC due to awful customer service.

    #24996 Reply

    Jay

    To James, (review dated Aug 16 2018)
    Thats what they do to every new trader. if you dont call them they have benefited from conversion. if you call them they say its your mistake ! you mistakenly checked the U.S dollar !! and they say its ok we convert it to canadian. thats when they recorrect it.
    They did the same thing to me and i knew very well i had checked the Canadian and not American . As i said in my previous review they are Bunch of Crooked people.
    Since i saw so many different illegal and fraudulent activity from them i filled with OBSI and IRROC and closed my account. EVERYBODY MUST BE CAREFUL WITH THEM. THEY ARE THIEVES.

    #24995 Reply

    Jay

    be careful who you are dealing with. They arent honest at all. their trading staffs are bunch of crooked traders. They use every trick in the book to benefit as much as they can . (using illegal tactics ). well, you will be able to complain to them but OBSI (Ombudsman for banking services and investment) but the best thing is to not start with them at all. The top rank CIBC employees are well aware of the problem but they dont care since their bank is benefited . ( I’m not sure if the traders individually are benefited or CIBC). But they are not trustworthy at all. ALL I CAN SAY IS DONT WALK , RUN !

    #24772 Reply

    Robert

    Investors Edge is a joke when trading options. They only Options you can sell online are covered calls.
    If I want sell naked puts (i.e. lower my cost of entry) I need to phone their number, jump through a few hoops to get recognized and then listen to elevator music waiting for a response.
    Quite often 15 minutes or more. By which time my option may have flown away.
    It’s time they traded in their horse & buggy.

    #24449 Reply

    James

    I’ve been using the account for just two weeks, so I do not have all the bugs worked out, but here are my first impressions. I’m not an active trader, so trade prices don’t matter that much. My first purchase, I was surprised to find out it was in American dollars. I had a plan for more purchases, but I over bought on the stocks I purchased as a result. More concerning, I researched a number of ETFs that looked good, yet I wasn’t able to find them or purchase them. Not sure what that is about. Lastly, of course I’m going to find my info on stocks somewhere else, not in their market research centre.

    #23922 Reply

    tom

    They say they will give the client an email when their trade is filled.

    NOT – they say oh – you are with Shaw – it doesn’t work then.
    CIBC sends everything else to Shaw but not the TRADE FILL ALERTS.

    POOR SERVICE when they are advised it does not work !!!

    #22775 Reply

    Disgruntled

    Good luck trying to get them to help. Under staffed. I’ve been trying for a week to get a real person. Making the switch, goodbye investorsedge.

    #22404 Reply

    Gerald Sorensen

    Investors edge low fee structure would be great if I could set it up. I have tried to log in online but the platform tells me that I have not provided the proper information. When I try to call CIBC the record is 53 minutes and counting on hold. What if I have problems with my account in the future I have to wait on hold for an hour or more every time? Ha Ha time to transfer to TD Waterhouse who answer the phone in 2 minutes max. Good luck in your business CIBC low rates are not everything.

    #22393 Reply

    Roland Herman

    I am starting to wonder if CIBC Investors Edge actually exists. I know that these days it is difficult to contact most companies by phone but even allowing for the Christmas period there is absolutely no way of making contact with Investors Edge.
    I have been trying off an on for two weeks and I am presently on the phone holding again after just being disconnected at the 50 minute mark on my last call.
    Unfortunately I need to speak to someone in order to resolve my issue.
    I am at my wits end. I can only hold for another 9 minutes because I have an outside appointment.
    My afternoon will have been wasted again.

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 27 total)
Reply To: Canadian Online Brokerage Review – CIBC Investor’s Edge
Your information: